[Review]: Get A Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

AfterlightImage
Title: Get A Life, Chloe Brown
Author: Talia Hibbert
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: November 5, 2019

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion.

The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…divider_line (1)Review:

Welp, this book has broken me. In all the best ways, of course. Seriously, don’t think about picking this book up, JUST DO IT. My heart is just a mess of emotions because this was such a cute read, while still managing to portray things like chronic pain and abusive relationships in an important light.

I’m sitting here writing this review pretty much speechless because how can I possibly capture this book in words other than just screaming at everyone to read it?

I was totally in love with the completely blunt humour. The chemistry between Red and Chloe was NEXT LEVEL. Seriously, I was in pain for them because they were so into each other emotionally and physically.

I loved how unapologetic Chloe was. She acted all high and mighty, but it worked for her as a character. She’s so completely strong and pretty much a total badass, even though she might raise her eyebrow at you for telling her so. She’s also stubborn to a tee with a sarcastic edge. Did I mention how completely comfortable she is in her own skin? It was refreshing to see and I respect the hell out of her.

Redford Morgan was just…WOW. If you’re into the artsy bad boy type, then you’re in for a treat. He’s also the nicest guy ever and will pretty much bend over backwards for everyone.

Have I mentioned that some of the best characters in books are animals? Well, you seriously need to meet Smudge.

This book is full of fire, while still managing to be downright witty and full-on adorable. I loved this book hard and could’ve devoured it in one sitting if sleep didn’t get in the way. Seriously, I put it down, turned the lights out and then picked it back up again. It was just irresistible and I was insatiable. I was seriously hungry for more interaction between Chloe and Red. Their banter was on high and it never actually stopped, even when they liked each other. This book is just cuteness overload. If you’re looking for a feel-good romance, don’t even hesitate!

4 thoughts on “[Review]: Get A Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s