Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that features highly anticipated book releases.

39098266
Title: Kingdom of Souls
Author: Rena Barron
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 10, 2019

Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay.

The lush world building of Children of Blood and Bone meets the sweeping scale of Strange the Dreamer in this captivating epic YA fantasy debut.

Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval.

There’s only one thing Arrah hasn’t tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom’s children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit.

She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees… unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.

Inspired by tales of folk magic in her own community, Rena Barron spins a darkly magical tale perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns or Shadow and Bone, about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and her own mother’s schemes.divider_line (1)Why am I excited?

UH, WITCHDOCTORS?! Hell to the yes! I also love a book where magic doesn’t come easy so it’ll be great to see the main character kind of finding her own magic niche. I’m also in desperate need for another African-inspired fantasy! This cover is also giving me total Black Panther vibes as well and I can’t handle the skulls on the side of the throne.

Is this one on your TBR? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s